Гренада

grenada
Окруженный группой островов Гренадин, Гренада заработала себе добрую славу красивейшего, зеленого карибского острова. Гренада расположена в системе наветренных островах и имеет много гор в 2 756 футов над уровнем моря. Тропический климат Гренады дарит яркую солнечную погоду в сочетании с умеренной температурой и пассатным ветром. Гренадины включают в себя: Petit Martinique, Diamond Island, Saline Island, Ronde Island, Carriacou, Large Island, Caille Island и Frigate Island. У Гренады есть шесть округов, которые называют: Saint David, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick, Saint Andrew, Saint John и Saint George.
Остров был обнаружен в 1498 году, наряду с большинством других островов, которые простираются вдоль цепочки Карибских островов. Первыми жителями Гренады были люди Kalinago и Caribs, которые оказывали ожесточенное сопротивление в защите своих домов и территорий от европейского вторжения. И Французы и англичане поселились в Гренаде на довольно значительный период времени, в течение которого случались враждебные действия в борьбе за право владения островом. Испанцы, которые также некоторое время жили на острове, продолжили свое путешествие на юг, покинув оставшиеся на сегодняшний день англо-говорящие острова Карибского бассейна, включая Гренаду.
Гренада стала независимой страной в 1974 году. После исполняющего обязанности премьера сэра Eric Matthew, Gairy был назначен первым премьер-министром, во время событий, приведших к независимости. Однако, в 1979 году государственный переворот под руководством Моуриса Бишопа (Maurice Bishop) дестабилизировал политику и наступило время нового идеологического движения, которое было мотивировано коммунистическими взглядами Кубы и СССР.
За эти годы, серия экономических реформ в торговле, туризме, производстве, и финансовых услугах развили экономику Гренады. Специи – товар торговой марки Гренады, который разными способами не только способствует экономике острова, но является важной частью в культуре и традициях. Специи, выращенные в Гренаде, состоят из булавы, корицы, мускатного ореха и имбиря. ВВП Гренады увеличилось на 20 % с экспортом мускатного ореха. Вот от куда появилось название: Остров Специй Карибского моря. Шоколадное производство выросло, чтобы занять замечательное место в мировой экономике.
Недавно Гренада стала популярным местом для экологического туризма, поскольку остров чрезвычайно ценен для любителей дайвинга, походов и просто места отдыха. Вулканическая Гренада все же имеет прекрасные белые пляжи. Острова Гренадины являются нетронутым раем с бесконечными белыми пляжами, голубым небом и прекрасной погодой. Большинство этих островов стало домом для многих иностранцев, которые убежали их родных стран к богатым и известным островам Гренады. Каждый остров – уникален, со своими нравами, историей, культурой, развлечением, роскошным проживанием и спокойствием.


English

Grenada

Surrounded by the group of Grenadine islands, Grenada has earned itself the repute of a beautiful, green Caribbean island. Grenada is located in the Windward Islands and has many mountains with the highest peak rising at 2,756 feet at Mount Catherine. Grenada’s tropical climate gives itself to bright sunshine yearly combined with mild temperatures brought on by cool trade winds. The Grenadines include Petit Martinique, Diamond Island, Saline Island, Ronde Island, Carriacou, Large Island, Caille Island and Frigate Island. Grenada has six parishes which are named Saint David, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick, Saint Andrew, Saint John and Saint George.

The island was formerly discovered in 1498 along with most of the other islands which lie along the chain of Caribbean islands. Grenada’s first inhabitants, however, were the Kalinago people or Caribs, who put up fierce resistance to protect their homes and territory from European invasion. Both the French and English settled Grenada for relatively significant periods of time, during which hostilities occurred in the struggle to claim ownership. The Spanish who also lived on the island for a very short amount of time continued their journey south, very much leaving the rest of the present day English speaking Caribbean islands including Grenada in the hands of the French and English colonizers.

Grenada became an independent nation in 1974, at which time Sir Eric Matthew Gairy was named the first Prime Minister after having served as Premier during the events leading up to independence. In 1979, however, a coup d’état led by Maurice Bishop politically destabilized and had begun to introduce what seemed to be a new ideological movement which was motivated by the communist views of Cuba and the USSR. This resulted in the eventual invasion under the Operation Urgent headed by the United States, Jamaica and the Regional Security System.

Over the years, a series of economic reforms in trade, tourism, manufacturing, and financial services sought to develop the economy of Grenada. Spice is a trademark commodity of Grenada and in many ways does not only contribute to the island’s economy but forms an important part in culture and tradition. Spices grown in Grenada are mace, loves, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger, with nutmeg exports from Grenada accounting for 20% of international supply; hence the phrase The Spice Isle of the Caribbean. Chocolate production has grown to occupy a remarkable place in contributing to foreign exchange thanks to advancements made in the development of organic cocoa farms and the creation of the Grenada Chocolate Company.

In recent times, branding Grenada as a destination for ecotourism has borne fruit as the island was highly ranked in various categories for diving, nature tours and other nature friendly vacation activities. Though volcanic, Grenada offers lovely white sand beaches, including its Grenadine isles which are untouched paradises of never ending white sand beaches, blue skies and lovely weather. Most of these islands have become home to many tourists who established private getaways away from their home countries, the rich and famous and luxury yachts. Each island offers its own unique tourism product combined with history, culture, entertainment, easy luxury living and tranquility.


Russian